Atom8 Documentation

1. Workflows
1.1. Understanding workflow
1.2. Workflow library
1.3. Managing workflows
2. Integration
3. Subscription & Billing
3.1. Action credit
3.2. Plan limit
3.3. Billing
4. Automation tips

Each workflow consists of a trigger, conditions, and actions.

  1. Workflow is triggered by time or by the event run in your e-Commerce store, such as an order being placed, a customer being added, or a product being created.
  2. Condition works like a filter. For example, if your store has 200 orders per day and you want to perform actions on not all but only the high-value orders, the condition you need to set would be “Order amount is greater than a certain amount”.
  3. Action is the task that will be performed by the workflow, such as adding product to categories, assigning customers to a group, or changing order status.

Understanding workflow

On the Library page,  you can see a list of 100+ pre-built workflow templates, arranged into different groups to help you select the most appropriate workflow template more easily:

  • Most Popular Templates
  • New Templates
  • Best Collection
  • Categories

After surfing for the most suitable template, you can click on the button “Create workflow from template” to apply the chosen template to a workflow you want right away.

Workflow library

View workflow

All your created workflows are listed on the Workflows page. You can click on the “View” icon in each respective workflow to view the details.

Edit workflow

You can edit workflow by simply clicking Edit button on the Workflow Details page. You can make changes to the conditions and actions of the workflow to your liking. Once done, please make sure to save the workflow to keep the adjustments.

manage workflow

Delete workflow

Deleting a workflow means you won’t be able to recover it in the future. To delete a workflow, click on the Delete icon in each respective workflow on the Workflows page.

Activate/ Deactivate workflow

You can temporarily pause the workflow for future use by changing workflow status to Inactive. Once a workflow is deactivated, it is still saved within the app but won’t be functioning. To activate the workflow again, simply change its status back to Active.

Integration overview

Integrations provide your workflows with additional functionality, typically by adding more action types. Integrations require configuration. 

To enable an integration, click the “Integration” tab, select the app you want to integrate, and follow the instructions on the screen. 

Atom8 BigCommerce integration

Some integrations will require a 3rd party service. For example, in order to use SendGrid, you need a paid account with this service and set up API access. 

BigCommerce sendgrid integration

Not finding an Integration?

If you’re looking for an integration that’s not on our list, please let us know. We’re constantly building more and more integrations and we want to work on yours! So please, let us know what you’re interested in!

What is an action credit? 

Action credit is the number of credits burned when the action is performed. Some actions cost more credits than others because they cost us money to perform on your behalfs, such as sending email or SMS text messages.

action credit

How are action credits deducted? 

Action credits are only deducted when an action is performed. They are not deducted when checking conditions to see if an action should be performed. For example, if you have a workflow that is looking for a particular condition in order and your store gets thousands of orders, but the condition only occurs rarely, you’ll only be charged when the conditions are met and the action is performed.

How are action credits calculated in case that workflow is triggered by time?

In case that workflow is triggered by time, each action may be performed on multiple items. Check the example below:

  • You have a workflow to make all the products in the “Black Friday” category visible on the storefront at a specific time. There are 100 products belonging to this category.
  • Action “Make product visible on storefront” costs 1 credit for each time it’s performed.
  • When the workflow is run, it will publish 100 products which means the action “Make product visible on storefront” is performed 100 times. Therefore, the total credit burned for this run is 100 credits.

credit preview

How many credits will I need each month?

That depends on how much you use Atom8 Automation (hopefully a lot)!

Check the example below:

  • You have one workflow that is triggered when an order is created. The workflow checks if the order amount is greater than $5,000 to add the customer to “VIP customers” group.
  • Action “Assign customer to a group” costs 1 credit for each time it’s performed.

Let’s say you have 3,000 orders per month and 10% of your orders are greater than $5,000, you will need 300 credits (300 times action is performed * 1 credit per time) per month for this workflow.

What is the plan limit?

Each plan is limited by the number of credits per billing cycle. You can use these credits to run as many workflows as you want until you run out of credits.

What happens if I hit my credit limit?

When you hit 70% or 90% of your credit limit, we’ll email you letting you know that you are running low on credits and should either upgrade or tweak your workflows.

When you hit the threshold, you’ll be notified as well.

You are still able to use Atom8 to build and modify your workflows, but all the workflows will be paused until your credit limit is extended in case you upgrade your subscription plan or until the next calendar month.

workflow analytic

Atom8 Pricing

There are 5 subscription plans that Atom8 is offering. In each plan, you will be provided with a specific number of credits per month. You can use these credits to run as many workflows as you want until you run out of credits. 

Depending on the complexity of your workflows, the system will deduct an equivalent number of credits each time a workflow runs.

 

Free

Starter

Growth

Pro

Enterprise

Monthly fee

0$

4.95$

19.95$

49.95$

99.95$

Number of credits/ billing cycle

100

250

1000

3000

10000

Number of workflows

Unlimited

Unlimited

Unlimited

Unlimited

Unlimited

How do upgrades and downgrades affect my billing?

When you upgrade, you will be immediately charged a prorated amount for the partial billing cycle period that you are going to be using the new plan. Also, the new features and credits will be available to you immediately.

When you downgrade, you will retain your old features until the end of your billing cycle. At that point, you will be moved to the new plan.

Can I optimize the workflow so that it burns fewer credits?

Actually, you can!

As an example, let’s say you want to assign a customer to “VIP customer” group if their order amount is greater than $5,000.

You can create a workflow like this:

  1. When an order is created (trigger)
  2. Check if the order amount is greater than $5,000 (condition)
  3. If Yes, assign customer to “VIP customer” group (action)

workflow example 1

You can even optimize the workflow as below:

  1. When an order is created (trigger)
  2. Check if the customer already belongs to “VIP customer” group or not (condition 1)
  3. If Yes, do nothing 
  4. Else, check if the order amount is greater than $5,000 (condition 2)
  5. If Yes, assign customer to “VIP customer” group 

workflow example 2

The second workflow will not perform the action if the customer already belongs to “VIP customer” group, so it can save you credits.